And The Oscar Goes To…

It’s that time of year again when the red carpet is unrolled and the tuxedos and evening gowns are rented.  Yes, its the 89th Academy Awards!

I am a huge fan of this awards show and I’ve watched it live every year since David Letterman compared Uma with Oprah.  Its quite a commitment too.  Living in the UK, the ceremony starts at around 1:30am and usually I find myself crawling to bed at around 5am (apart from Letterman’s show which ran long and I ended up staying awake and going to work just a couple of hours later! Never did that again!)

Every year I endeavour to make my predictions (this is the first time I’ve ever published my predictions) as to who will take home the little gold man and, usually, I do pretty well considering I haven’t seen the nominated films (I know, I’m disappointed with me too!) So here, for your dissection, is my list of predictions for this year’s Oscars:

STEVE’S “SPOOK” OSCAR PREDICTIONS 2017

BEST PICTURE – LA LA LAND

BEST DIRECTOR – DAMIEN CHAZELLE (La La Land)

BEST ACTOR – CASEY AFFLECK (Manchester By The Sea)

BEST ACTRESS – EMMA STONE (La La Land)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR – DEV PATEL (Lion)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS -VIOLA DAVIES (Fences)

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY – MANCHESTER BY THE SEA

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY – LION

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE – KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE PICTURE – TONI ERDMANN

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY – LA LA LAND

BEST EDITING – HACKSAW RIDGE

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN – LA LA LAND

BEST COSTUME DESIGN – FLORENCE FOSTER JENKINS

BEST MAKEUP & HAIR – STAR TREK BEYOND

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE – LA LA LAND

BEST ORIGINAL SONG – “CAN’T STOP THE FEELING” JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE (Trolls)

BEST SOUND MIXING – HACKSAW RIDGE

BEST SOUND EDITING – HACKSAW RIDGE

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS – THE JUNGLE BOOK

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE – OJ: MADE IN AMERICA

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT – EXTREMIS

BEST ANIMATED SHORT – BORROWED TIME

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT – SILENT NIGHTS

There you go, my totally unscientific predictions for this year’s Academy Awards.  What do you think?  Do you agree?  Who should have been nominated instead?  Let me know, either on here or via my Twitter feed, where I will also be tweeting along on the big night (I know, you’re excited too!).  So, dust off your tuxedo, stock up on the food and drink and join me and host Jimmy Kimmel for the 89th Academy Awards!

Leave a Reply

